When Martens visited Glengallan in 1851 the property was occupied by Charles H. Marshall who three years later entered into partnership with the Scotsman John Deuchar (1822–72). Under Deuchar the ‘Glengallan Stud’ became famous for both merino sheep and short-horn cattle. He continued improving the property and in 1867 began building an impressive two-storied home with stone quarried on the property at a cost of 12,000 pounds. Martens revisited Glengallan in early March 1852 and stayed for several more days.

Photo 1979

Martens, Conrad
England/Australia 1801–78
Glengallan, Darling Downs 1853
Watercolour and pencil
14.3 x 23.1cm
Collection: John Oxley Library

The watercolour shows the original wooden homestead. It was replaced in 1867 by an impressive stone house, testament to the growing wealth of the squatters, which can be seen in the 1979 photograph.

Print friendly version